Built in 1878 on Filellinon Square right on the seafront its development was hand-in-glove with the first capital of Greece, seveoring the breeze of the Argolic Sea, interacting with the Venetian castle o Bourzi.
Since opening its doors to the public, its luxurious room have welcomed eminent citizents of Nafplion. Mr. and Mrs. Schkiemann during their excavations at Mycennae, the king Adolph Gustav grandfather to the present King of Sweden and the outstanding actress of Epidaurus Ancient Greek Theatre, Eleni Papdoki, just to name a few.
Bt the end of the 19-century, it was the home of Bishop of Argolis Nickandro. Early in the 21st century, almost in ruins and sufering total abandonment, it was bought by Mr. Constantines Dedes. The new owner, respectful of the historical value of the mythical hotel, restored it to its former unique beauty, which allowed to retain its sophisticated outlook, reflecting, though, the changes it underwent in the course of history.